So here I am, back in Calgary.  I’ve slowly started to get back into the school routine, bit by agonizing bit.  Today I managed to get quite a bit done, including setting up my iCal as my teacher planbook.  You have no idea how excited that makes me!  Now I can open up my laptop, click on the particular class I am teaching that day, and my attachments are there, waiting for me.  Bliss…

Except for one problem.  I don’t actually have the attachments.  I have a paper binder, 3″ wide and bursting at the seams, but somehow Royal Roads has made me rethink EVERYTHING.  My old lesson plans just seem so…well, wrong.  I think I’ve been ruined by Kolb’s learning theory.

Then, there’s D2L – that’s our LMS here at the Calgary Board of Education.  I’ve never been much of a fan, probably because it is so rigid in it’s design.  Actually, it’s not dissimilar from Moodle, come to think of it.  In previous years, I’ve chosen to dump D2L in favour of my own website.  The major problem with that occurs when students want to submit assignments to me.  I could send them to drop.io, but that might be one too many steps for them.

So while making new labels for my shelves (colour coded, naturally) and setting up my iCal was easy, the decisions on what to teach and how to teach it remain…

…Sigh.

