So I should undoubtedly be working on our final assignment for LRNT 504.  Of course, that would be the logical thing to do.  So I’m not doing that…

I am still at home thanks to another doctor’s note (argh), but I read my emails from school regularly.  The head of our department just sent through a discussion regarding how to improve our diploma exam marks.  In his mind, it is all related to vocabulary.  And while I agree that both Social Studies specific vocabulary as well as the English language is something to focus on, I decided to suggest that more care and attention on objectives, course sequencing and strategies could prove useful.

I know that objectives are something I have ignored for 15 years, course sequencing is something I rarely think about, and my instructional strategies are not as diverse as the could be.  So for me, Instructional Design could very well produce a better finished product, which could very well raise marks.  While I agree that vocabulary deserves attention, I’m not convinced that just knowing what the word means translates into understanding a complex theory or philosophy.

So, I have decided to ignore LRNT 504 for the past three evenings, and type up objectives for the grade 12 course.  I want to PROVE that Instructional Design could help.  And I’ve found this new app for the iPad called Popplet which makes great visuals, and they’ve just released a beta version so I can work on my laptop as well…

Here’s the link to my first crack at objectives for the grade 12 course on Popplet…what comes next is developing the strategies an designing the message. Hmmm…this is a lot of work!

http://popplet.com/app/#/12352

