I’m not really talking about the end of the world, but I am talking about the end of life as I used to teach it. I have been slowing moving towards critical thinking and student led learning, and have been using as much technology as I could for the past two years. But this year just seems different.

Why? Honestly, Twitter plays a huge role. Somehow, without even knowing it, I signed up for Twitter and found the best PD I’ve ever had. And I have wound up with a PLN that is amazing, supportive, and full of fantastic ideas. Add to that my current role as a Master’s student at Royal Roads University, where I have been able to learn and collaborate about the role of technology in learning.

So what is going to be different? Well, a few things:

1. I will not be the hardest working person in the room. I have often failed at believing in the abilities of my students, and I wind up doing most of the work. But it’s time to hand over the reins to the people that deserve them – the students. I have been getting a lot of inspiration from the podcasts on iTunes U, and I have been listening to them as I enjoy these last few days of warm summer sun.

2. I will connect with parents on a more consistent level. My secret weapon? WordPress! The past few years I have hosted my own website, but it was limited in functionality, and difficult to modify on the go. Using a blog on WordPress, I can update my blog on my phone while supervising 900 teenagers eating their lunch. As long as I can block out the sounds of 900 students eating lunch.

3. I will reach out to other teachers in my school who are interested in using technology. While I am lucky to have one or two other members of my own department who are interested in technology, the other 6 or 7 are getting ready to use their textbooks and overhead projectors. But I think there are about 4 or 5 others who might be game to look at other options.

4. I will lead by example. I truly believe that technology can really impact learning in a positive light. It just makes sense to work with something that is a huge part of students’ lives already. So I am going to get students to text their answers in class, use their video capabilities on their smartphones for content creation, and begin to blog. I am going to try and flip a few classes, so that we can spend more class time on debates and projects, and less time on lectures.

So bring on the end of my old teaching style! I will keep you updated…

